Column: The icy walk

I never thought I would say this, but one of the things I miss most about college is the 30-minute or so walk to each class.

Sure, you had all your required classes like college algebra and biology and ballroom dancing, but this was required exercise. Especially in the winter, when you were weighed down with 10 pounds of coats, scarves, mittens, first shirts, second shirts, third shirts, and, if you had time or cared, a book bag.

Then you had to walk into an icy wind, which required one to walk forward without ever actually looking forward. Thus, you randomly would see students walk into trees. And it wouldn’t even be 2 a.m. on a Friday night.

Now, I drive everywhere. I drive to the library, which is five blocks away. I drive to the post office, which is three blocks away. I even drive to my city’s rec center – to exercise.

So I’ve decided to channel a little bit of the good, old college spirit and begin walking again. It will be good for me. A little bit of exercise. A little bit of money saved from gas. I might even walk into a tree. That certainly would bring back those wonderful, fuzzy memories from college.

But, just like in college, I won’t be bringing my book bag.

Leave a Reply

