Column: ‘Story’ guy has big news to share

I’m getting married in less than a week, which means the bachelor days of Taco Bell and video games are coming to a close.

And, frankly, it’s about time.

I’ve had my fill of being a bachelor – picking up fast food because I don’t want to cook for one; playing video games for hours on end because there was no one there to remind me that I was rotting out my brain.

Yeah, I really can do without that.

But what I’m most looking forward to is having someone to share stories with on a nightly basis.

I’m a big “story” guy. I love to tell stories. I love to listen to stories. Sharing experiences is one of the greatest joys of life.

But in the more-than-five years that we’ve been together, we’ve seen one another only about once a week because of how far we live from each other. We’ve never been closer than 45 minutes, in fact.

Sure, we talk on the phone every night, but telephones are terrible for telling stories, especially when you’re using cell phones that take a perverse pleasure in dropping the call just when you reach the best part of the story.

You really need to tell a story in person. You just do.

And now I’ll have someone who will have to listen to my stories every night by vow. Well, at least until she walks into another room. I suppose I could call her on my cell then.

Leave a Reply

