Column: Help pick the comics you would like to see

• Originally published in the Kane County Chronicle on Dec. 2, 2008

I love the comics page of newspapers. In many ways, I am your stereotypical guy in that I will first turn to the sports section and comics page before looking through the rest of the paper.

I have the complete “Calvin & Hobbes” collection, more “Peanuts” memorabilia than I know what to do with and have gotten into classics such as “Krazy Kat” and “Pogo.”

To steal from the great Charles Schulz, the comics page is like a warm blanket.

Our own comics page will be going through some changes soon. We need to eliminate a few comics, and we want your help in choosing which ones should go.

Below are my top three and bottom three comic strips that currently run in the Chronicle. (Not that this means there is any extra weight behind these choices. When it comes to the comics page, I’m a reader just like you. The decision will be based on reader response with the cost and availability of comics also coming into play.)

The top three:

1. “Peanuts” – A boy. A dog. A broken heart. The perfect comic strip.

2. “Arlo & Janis” – Not necessarily the funniest or the best drawn, but for some reason I’ve always been drawn to this comic. It just rings true.

3. “Cul de Sac” – A new entry to our comics page, but one that quickly is becoming a favorite, surpassing “Get Fuzzy” on this list. “Cul de Sac” makes me laugh, while “Get Fuzzy” has not had the best story lines in the past two years.

The bottom three:

1. “Beetle Bailey” – Not funny and relies too much on stereotype.

2. “The Born Loser” – Too much losing.

3. “Frank & Ernest” – To be honest, I was surprised that this was even on our comic page when I was perusing them for this column, and I look at the page every day. That’s how bad this comic is. I’ve completely eliminated it from my memory.

So now it’s your turn. What are your most and least favorites on the comics page? Shoot me an e-mail at comics@kcchronicle.com and let me know. You also can let me know whether there are any comics you would like to see added to the page.

Leave a Reply

