Column: New comics make debut

• Originally published in the Kane County Chronicle on Jan. 6, 2009

I know this won’t go for everyone, but I am a huge “Pearls Before Swine” comics fan.

There’s just something about a wise-cracking rat, gullible pig and a Rambo-wannabee duck that amuses me.

So, I must say I’m pleased that it’s joining our Sunday comics section. It won’t tickle everyone’s funny bone, but I think it’s a good selection.

In today’s comics section, you will notice that “Pearls Before Swine” and “Pickles” have joined the cast, kicking “Peanuts” and “Spider-Man” off the Sunday comics island.

While I like Spider-Man, I’ve never been a huge fan of the comics strip version. Losing “Peanuts” from the Sunday comics, on the other hand, pulls at the heartstrings, as I’m sure it does for many of you, as well.

You will be hard-pressed to find a bigger “Peanuts” fan than me. I have Snoopy and Charlie Brown memorabilia scattered throughout my house. I wrote numerous college papers attempting to connect “Peanuts” to various study areas, such as chimpanzees, Chinese history and statistics, much to the chagrin of my professors. I’m slowly working my way toward having Charles Schulz’s entire collection. In my mind, the man was a genius.

But even I have to admit that it might be time for “Peanuts” to go the way of “Krazy Kat,” “Pogo” and increasingly “Calvin and Hobbes,” and slowly disappear off the pages of newspapers.

That being said, it will remain in our daily paper (and I will continue to enjoy reading it there), though we still are taking your suggestions and working on figuring out what our daily comics section of the future will look like.

As always, let me know what you think about the Sunday switch and continue to e-mail me which comics strips you would like to see stay or go from our daily comics sections.

Leave a Reply

