Column: You might recognize these faces

• Originally published in the Kane County Chronicle on Feb. 26, 2009

We humans can’t help but respond to other people’s faces.

From recognizing our mother’s face as babies to the joy that fills our hearts as we see the face of a loved one we haven’t seen in weeks or months, we are built to respond to each other’s faces.

We even see faces where there shouldn’t be one: the moon, clouds and sometimes even the trunk of a tree.

In Saturday’s paper, we’ll be including a special section, Intros, filled with profiles featuring the people behind our local businesses. The profiles won’t just tell you about the businesses and people. Most of them will show you the faces of those who make the business tick.

As the editor of a newspaper, I have little choice but to show my face to those we serve. My mug never strays from my column. Sorry, folks. But how often do you see the face of cabinet makers or therapists or jewelers? (This does not go for Realtors, who are as good at getting their faces out there as certain editors.) These are faces that also need to be shown.

I got a chance to preview Intros today, and each time I turned the page I invariably found myself drawn to the faces smiling above each profile.

Behind every business, including our own, are real people. They are our friends, our neighbors, our fellow residents. They are our community.

Sometimes we might forget this.

But when I looked at the photos of those profiled in Intros, I immediately started wondering about them. Does she have a family? How has the downturn in the economy affected him? Is that Mariah Carey? (Sorry, but one of them does slightly resemble Mariah Carey.)

It brought them home to me.

Now, that doesn’t mean I’m going to rush out and offer money for their services. For one, I don’t have a child, a home or any back or joint issues, which puts me out of the running for quite a bit of local services.

But I found it interesting to flip through, nonetheless. And I would encourage you to do the same in Saturday’s paper. You might even recognize some of them.

These aren’t just our local businesses. They are our local faces.

Joe Grace is the editor of the Chronicle. Write to him at jgrace@kcchronicle.com.

Leave a Reply

