Column: Questions about the new Chronicle? I’ve got answers

• Originally published in the Kane County Chronicle on March 3, 2009

We’re less than two weeks away from the new Chronicle being unveiled, and I can’t wait to show it off. This has been an incredibly exciting project, and I think we’re creating a new product that the Tri-Cities and Kaneland will be proud to call their own.

At every paper I’ve been at so far, I’ve stressed being as local as possible and getting readers involved. Our new format will allow us to do exactly that on a level that wasn’t possible before because of the breadth of our coverage.

I’m a big believer in community newspapers. I worked in smaller areas such as La Salle and Sycamore before coming here, and the part I always liked best was talking to people and getting them involved in the paper. We hope to continue to do more and more of that.

I can’t say everything we’re planning on doing quite yet. (My mother always taught me not to make promises I couldn’t keep, and we’re still a few loose ends away from being able to finalize some of the features we plan.) But I can promise that The Chronicle will be the voice of the Tri-Cities and Kaneland and the people who live and work here. And that’s a promise I can keep.

I also can answer some common questions that we have been receiving about The Chronicle.

Q: Why are you eliminating the Sunday and Monday newspapers?

A: The short answer is to save money so that we can continue to provide you news and other content. Most of the items that were in your Sunday paper will now be in your weekend edition. And just because we will not have a print version on Sunday and Monday does not mean we will stop providing content on those days. We will have reporters working Saturday, Sunday and Monday throughout the day checking up on news and updating the Web site. We remain and will continue to be a seven-day-a-week daily news operation. The number of days we print has no effect on the number of days we gather and provide news and other content.

Q: What happens if I don’t have Internet access to view your Web site?

A: For those who rely solely on our print product, we will have a special spread on Tuesdays that will cover what happened over the weekend as well as looking ahead to what’s coming up that week.

Q: I am a weekend-only or Sunday-only subscriber. What happens to my subscription?

A: Our weekend-only customers (Thursday through Sunday or Friday through Sunday) will receive everything they receive now, just in fewer days. Current Sunday-only customers will receive the weekend edition.

Q: Why did you change the format of the newspaper? What was wrong with the old style?

A: We changed to a tabloid format because it allows us to use our newsprint (the actual paper we print on) more efficiently. We can save on newsprint and ink. In addition, the compact format of the tab style is preferable to many readers, who find the format easy to navigate.

Q: How will the delivery change affect advertisements?

A: You will receive all of your former Sunday advertisements in your weekend edition. We hope this will help you plan your weekend shopping accordingly, as well as give you more time with your weekend features.

Q: Can I expect my weekend edition delivery at the same time my Saturday paper is delivered now?

A: Yes. Our weekend delivery time remains at 7 a.m.

• Have any other questions about The Chronicle? Ask away. You can contact Joe Grace at jgrace@kcchronicle.com or 630-845-5368.

Leave a Reply

