Column: A little taste of what’s to come

• Originally published in the Kane County Chronicle on March 10, 2009

I love food.

It wasn’t always this way, though.

When I was a boy, I was one of the pickiest eaters ever to grace Scooby Doo pajamas. I would eat hot dogs (but only on a bun and with ketchup), macaroni and cheese, fish sticks and most fruit (but not any water-free melons).

And that was about it. I wouldn’t go near most vegetable, dairy or meat products. And any combination of those (namely casseroles) certainly were out. I could be convinced to eat a McDonald’s hamburger, but only because at the time I wasn’t sure it actually was meat.

Then, when I was 12, I was introduced to fried chicken. I begrudgingly tried it, my taste buds were dazzled, and my love affair with food began.

Now, I’ll eat sushi, cabbage, alligator, oysters, mushrooms and just about anything else you put on my plate. Except canned peas. Still can’t do canned peas. I’m gagging a little bit just by writing the name.

So, needless to say, I’m excited about our expanded food section that will debut next Wednesday with the new Chronicle and I’d love to give you a little “taste” of what to expect. (This is a really bad joke as you’re about to find out.)

• The section will be called Taste – hence the bad joke – and will be in every Wednesday paper. We also still will put out our Relish pullout section once a month on Wednesday.

• We’re inviting readers to share their favorite recipes and are taking some oldies but goodies from local cookbooks. If you would like to submit your favorite recipe, please e-mail them to editorial@kcchronicle.com.

• We’ll introduce the Mystery Diner, a column that will be written by a small number of trusted editorial staffers who will visit a local restaurant each week with an allowance of $30. The restaurant won’t know we’re coming. But we’re certain to come out of the restaurant each week with a report on the food, the service and the atmosphere.

• We also are reviving our food events calendar, which will contain go-and-do information about wine tastings, special dinners, cooking classes and more. We’re currently gathering this information and those who know of upcoming events can send them to editorial@kcchronicle.com.

And that’s not everything. We still have a few other projects we’re working on for the Taste section that we hope will be ready by the end of the month.

The Taste section is just one example of what we’re doing with the new Chronicle to make it even more local and relevant to you. I’ll be sharing more of what’s coming up in the next few days. This was simply – c’mon, wait for it – a taste.

Joe Grace is the editor of the Chronicle. Contact him at 630-845-5368 or jgrace@kcchronicle.com.

Leave a Reply

