Column: It’s OK to get bromantic

• Originally published in the Kane County Chronicle on March 23, 2009

Most men have some sort of bromance in their life. And that’s a good thing.

I watched the new movie “I Love You, Man” this weekend, a comedy starring Paul Rudd and Jason Segel, in which Rudd tries to make some male friends before his wedding so his future wife doesn’t think he’ll be too clingy once they get married.

Rudd meets Segel and the two quickly form a close bond – a bromance.

A bromance is a new term that is being bandied about and a lot of people aren’t quite sure what it means. Essentially, it is a man-crush – a close, non-sexual relationship between two men.

It’s your best friend. Your top bud. The guy you can just sit around and do nothing with and – you know what – it’s cool. It could be a neighbor, a war buddy, a co-worker, a family member, the list goes on. It’s Matt Damon and Ben Affleck; Julius Caesar and Mark Anthony; Shaggy and Scooby-Doo.

I have two bromances in my life – my best friend and college roommate, Jakob, and my brother, Jason.

I can tell these guys anything and probably have. And when I’m with them, I don’t feel like I have to end conversation gaps or find something for us to do or any of those other things that happen when you’re spending time with someone who is a friend, but not necessarily a best friend.

It’s just comfortable.

Sadly, my two best friends both still live in southern Indiana while I’m in the Chicago suburbs despite repeated attempts to convince them they should move up here.

Now, I love my wife. I love spending time with her. And she’s also my best friend. But she’s simply not a bro.

And I’m sure most of you guys know where I’m coming from, and you women have similar friendships with your best friends (galpalmances just sounds bad, though).

We need these relationships – to keep us happy, to keep us sane.

So, the next time someone tells you that you and your best friend have a bromance, don’t get offended. Just simply smile and nod.

Joe Grace is the editor of The Chronicle. You can write to him at jgrace@kcchronicle.com or call him at 630-845-5368.

Editor’s notes:

Ask your own question: While reporter Eric Schelkopf was the one asking the questions of the Batavia mayoral candidates for today’s story, you’ll have a chance to ask them questions of your own if you attend the League of Women Voters of Batavia forum on Wednesday night. It will be held from 7 to 9 p.m. at Batavia City Hall and will include candidates from the mayoral and aldermanic races. I’ll be there to check out the candidates, as well, and I hope there is good turnout.

Please, vote for my opponent: One of my favorite parts of the League of Women Voters of Geneva-St. Charles candidate forum held Sunday at the Geneva Public Library was the Library Board portion of the forum. Four of the five candidates said they thought the two incumbents should be elected to one of the three open seats. Now, that’s election civility to the extreme.

Isn’t stock car auto redundant? The Chronicle team did not place in the top 3 at the Trivia Bee for Literacy held Saturday at the Q Center in St. Charles. We didn’t even come close, getting tripped up on questions such as what NASCAR stood for and what the last names of those of Gilligan’s Island were. Congrats to Book ’em, Denault for winning the event. We’ll get you next year. (We’ll probably not, but maybe we’ll get a little closer.)

Leave a Reply

