Column: Ready for the next 100 days for The Chronicle

• Originally published in the Kane County Chronicle on April 28, 2009

Today is President Barack Obama’s 100th day in office.

While much ado will be made of it, I would like to reflect on the last 100 days for The Chronicle.

We’ve gone through a lot of changes here in the past 100 days, changing our format, our style and the number of days we print. Some people have loved the changes. Others, not so much. And that’s to be expected. You can’t make everyone happy, so you should do what’s right – and in our case, what we do best – local.

We’re on the right path, but more work needs to be done. Our best stories still are ahead of us. We’ve had some good stories in the last 100 days, but I’d like readers to get more out of our big story of the day, as well as better explanations of how you are affected by these issues. I also hope to do more local looks at national and world issues.

We also now are on Twitter (username: kcchronicle), which quickly is becoming my favorite social networking tool. What I like about it is that I get actual news from it, not just updates from my friends such as “Amy just got done taking a nap” or “Brian is going out tonight, for sure!” While I’m happy one of my friends has time to take a nap during the day and that the other will be having a night of fun, I’m just not sure that is information I need nor want to have.

Many companies and news providers now are using Twitter, though, to give their followers updates. So rather than checking out a dozen Web sites, I’m able to follow all of their Twitter sites and get all of the news updates at once. I’m really not trying to advertise for Twitter here, but I think it’s an interesting example of how the way we get our news constantly is changing, and I’m happy to be a part of that.

We’re also still talking to local people who might want to get involved with The Chronicle, and we have new local features planned for the next 100 days that we hope you will enjoy. Our Cooking School, Mystery Diner and Face Time columns have been solid additions to The Chronicle.

It’s been an interesting last 100 days at The Chronicle, and I’m excited for the next 100. There’s a lot to be accomplished.

Joe Grace is the editor of The Chronicle. Write to him at jgrace@kcchron icle.com or call him at 630-845-5368.

Leave a Reply

