Column: Chronicle’s new weather page has it all

Originally published in the Kane County Chronicle on April 2, 2010

I’m sure you’ve heard it said that breakfast is the most important meal of the day.

So, it probably wasn’t the best decision yesterday when I thought it would be a good idea to have a Hot Pocket for breakfast. (I’d like to blame this on my wife being out of town on a church trip, but truthfully I would have done it had she been home, as well.)

If you are unaware of the Hot Pocket phenomenon, comic Jim Gaffigan might have described it best when he imagined how a marketing guy might have presented it at a meeting:

“How about we fill a Pop-Tart with nasty meat and then you could cook it in a sleeve thing.”

Needless to say, it was a rough day.

Perhaps I should try a hearty bowl of oatmeal this morning.

• • •

We updated our weather content, which you can check out on page 5. It now has all sorts of extras for you weather junkies out there – such as the pollen count, UV index and air quality.

For example, if you look at today’s weather page, you’ll find out that we had a record high temperature of 83 degrees Thursday, beating out the previous best of 82 degrees in 1946.

In fact, it was warmer Thursday than it will be today in just about any part of the country you could drive to. (I would not suggest you try driving to Hawaii.) I consider yesterday to be an early present from the summer fairy before she turns nasty and starts filling our proverbial stockings with sweltering 100-degree afternoons.

However, it looks like our heat wave will be coming to an end soon. Fox Chicago News Chief Meteorologist Amy Freeze – perfect name for a Chicago meteorologist, by the way – has the high temperatures back in the 50s within a couple of days. I suppose I should keep my swimming trunks put away for a few months, still.

• • •

In today’s sports section, we have our 2010 boys outdoor track and field preview.

As the husband of a marathoner, I have a great amount of respect for these teens, who must put in an incredible amount of training to succeed.

And while I haven’t run more than a mile in probably about five years and spend my Saturday mornings sleeping in while my wife goes on multi-mile training runs, part of me still is hopeful that one day I’ll get my act together and start running again.

Unfortunately, there is that other part. And that other part loves to sleep in.

• • •

Our Neighbors section this week is full of local submitted content, but we’re always looking for more. Photos, stories, whatever – send it in and we probably can find a place for it.

This week, we have birthdays, honor rolls, campus news, photos and stories of local youth doing good deeds, as well as St. Charles resident Joan Arteberry’s bi-monthly column on the neighbors in her life.

We’d love to print your stories and photos, as well.

You can e-mail items to neighbors@kcchronicle.com.

Joe Grace is the editor of the Kane County Chronicle. Write to him at jgrace@kcchronicle.com or call him at 630-845-5368.

Leave a Reply

