Column: Your nature photos could win you a grand prize

• Originally published in the Kane County Chronicle on March 11, 2011

I consider myself to be a shutterbug, carrying a camera with me almost everywhere I go.

Now, I’m certainly not a professional – not even close – but occasionally I’ll take a picture with my little digital camera that I’m proud of. (I have many more photos of blurry objects that might or might not be Bigfoot.)

So, I was excited when I found out that the Kane County Chronicle would be sponsoring a nature-photo contest in which readers could submit their best shots of the wild Fox Valley frontiers.

You can find out more information at http://www.KCChronicle.com/photocontest, but I’ll break down the basics for you.

There will be four weekly rounds. The first round started Thursday, and you have until Monday to enter. From Tuesday through March 17, everyone is invited to vote for their favorite photo at http://www.KCChronicle.com/photocontest. And then the second round begins on March 18 and so on. The photo that receives the most votes each of the four weeks will be eligible for the contest’s prizes.

At the end of the four weeks, the KCC Photo Jury – it sounds much more ominous than it really is – will select the winners from the photos that received the most votes each week.

While all entrants will receive a $50 studio credit with Indigo Photographic in Batavia, there are some cool prizes for the top three photos, all of which will be displayed at the St. Charles Park District’s Hickory Knolls Discovery Center.

The grand prize will be three one-hour private lessons with Michael Barton of Indigo Photographic and a $250 studio credit; as well as a $250 custom framing from Proud Fox Gallery.

The second-place prize will be a one-hour private lesson with Barton and a $150 studio credit, while the third-place winner will receive a one-hour private lesson and a $100 studio credit.

Sadly I’m not eligible to enter, though I suppose it is just as well. I rarely take nature photos.

Unless, of course, it really is Bigfoot in those blurry photos of mine.

Joe Grace is the editor of the Kane County Chronicle. Write to him at jgrace@kcchronicle.com or call him at 630-845-5368.

Leave a Reply

