Column: Happy week for this fair-weather fan

• Originally published in the Kane County Chronicle on March 18, 2011

I had promised in early December that I was going to handle winter better this year.

“I’ll never get used to winter,” I wrote. “I’ll never truly embrace it. But maybe, just maybe … I can make peace with it.”

I’m sad to report that there can be no peace. I did not handle winter any better this year than I had my previous seven in northern Illinois. I grumbled. I complained loudly. I lashed out at random piles of snow. It was not pretty.

As you might guess, this has been a very happy week for me. We turned the heat off in our home. I’ve walked around outside without a jacket on. I heard birds sing and – for the first time in months – it didn’t sound like a death knell for warmth.

It was a very happy week.

What can I say? When it comes to the seasons, I’m a fair-weather fan.

• • •

The 2011 Trivia Bee for Literacy will be held from 9 a.m.-noon Saturday at the Q Center in St. Charles. I will be on one of the Kane County Chronicle teams with promotions manager Kelsey Rakers and Mike Mueller from circulation. The other team will be comprised of photo editor Sandy Bressner, reporter Ashley Rhodebeck and sports reporter Kevin Druley.

The event will benefit Literacy Volunteers Fox Valley, a group that helps people throughout our area improve their literacy skills through one-on-one tutoring so that those people can make a better life for themselves.

While watching a trivia bee and participating in a silent auction might not be an ideal morning for some people – it would be for me, but I have nerd tendencies (and proudly so) – there are other ways you can help this group.

If you’re interested in helping to improve literacy in this area, call 630-584-2811 or visit http://www.lvfv.org/howtohelp.

Joe Grace is the editor of the Kane County Chronicle. Write to him at jgrace@kcchronicle.com or call him at 630-845-5368.

Leave a Reply

