Column: Breaking down to get a smartphone

• Originally published in the Kane County Chronicle on April 23, 2011

After years – or what seemed like years – of resistance, I finally broke down and bought a smartphone.

Four hours later, I was completely addicted.

It’s not that I was against technology. It’s that I’m against technology that will cost me a lot of money when the item it’s going to replace isn’t broken.

However, my old

cellphone that I got for free with my contract four or five years ago finally gave up the ghost and it was time to move into 2011.

Now, I’m the proud owner of a smartphone. And I can already see that this is going to lead to marriage counseling.

My wife just tried to ask me a question while I was writing my column and playing with my smartphone. It took me a little longer than it should have to begin to answer. She eventually started counting. I got to nine seconds. I will need to try to work on getting that down to about three seconds or less. When I get distracted and take too long to answer questions, my wife refers to it as “Joe Grace, live from Tel Aviv.”

Needless to say, the smartphone is going to take me to Tel Aviv often.

Like me, we’re continue to move forward with technology at the Kane County Chronicle.

Our Twitter account at twitter.com/kcchronicle and our Facebook account at facebook.com/kanecounty chronicle continue to update readers throughout the day with stories and breaking news. You can check us out by following us on Twitter or liking us on Facebook.

We also have begun sending out morning updates and breaking news through email. You can sign up to receive those emails by clicking on the “E-mail Alerts” button on the right side of our home page at KCChroni cle.com.

And if you would like to get Monday’s news, sports stories, cartoons and puzzles, you now can check out our Monday online edition by clicking on the “Today’s

E-edition” button on the right side of our home page on Mondays.

We’re also working on putting more videos and photo slideshows with our stories so you can enjoy those, as well.

And, of course, you can check out our mobile site by going to KCChronicle.com on your smartphone. And, for the first time ever, I can too.

Joe Grace is the editor of the Kane County Chronicle. Write to him at jgrace@kcchronicle.com or call him at 630-845-5368.

Leave a Reply

