Column: Men cooking for a good cause

Originally published in the Kane County Chronicle on May 6, 2011

My wife is the chef in the family. She makes beautiful Sunday dinners that sometimes can take all day.

Me? I do my best. My best cooking qualities are my abilities to follow a recipe and to use kitchen utensils without hurting myself. Needless to say, I won’t be asked to be a contestant on “Top Chef” anytime soon.

However, with the help of a good recipe, I can hold my own in the kitchen using those modest abilities. As such, I’m more confident than ever heading into my third 60 Men Who Cook event tonight at the Kane County Fairgrounds.

This year, I’ll be sticking with desserts and making raspberry-cream cheese muffins. It’s a “Cooking Light” recipe, which I’ve had good luck with in the past. Delicious and healthy. (Well, as healthy as raspberry-cream cheese muffins get.)

After running out of my 200 chocolate-covered red velvet cake balls halfway through the event last year, I’ll be upping the ante to 300 samples, which means I have quite the shopping trip in front of me Thursday evening.

I’ll be purchasing three dozen eggs, 24 cups of raspberries and 60 ounces of cream cheese among other ingredients. (I don’t think you actually can buy cups of raspberries, so let’s just say an armload of raspberries. I think that’s the proper terminology.)

There also will be 59 other scrumptious dishes to sample at the event, including treats such as English trifle, pork carnitas with jicama and radish slaw, Thai beef salad and chocolate profiteroles with vanilla ice cream. As well as something called garbage eggs, which brings about some fantastic mental imagery. Let’s end on a better note, shall we? Cheesecake. There will be cheesecake.

If you’re interested in attending, and I hope you are, the event will be held from 5:30 to 10 p.m. tonight at the Prairie Event Center at the Kane County Fairgrounds, 525 S. Randall Road, St. Charles.

Tickets are $30 presale, two for $50 presale or $35 at the door. Tickets are available presale at Fagans Graphic Design, the Geneva Chamber of Commerce office, the Geneva History Center, The Paper Merchant and State Street Jewelers.

It’s also for a good cause. The proceeds from this Geneva Chamber of Commerce fundraiser will go to the Geneva History Center, Geneva Lions Club and Rotary Club of Geneva. There will be a 50/50 raffle at the event, as well as $1 voting for your favorite dishes.

And just like with elections, you even can vote ahead by visiting http://www.genevachamber.com/60Men.htm and casting your $1 vote electronically.

A good cause, good food and a good time. I hope many of you are able to attend, and if you do, stop by, say hello and have a muffin. There should be plenty to go around.

Joe Grace is the editor of the Kane County Chronicle. Write to him at jgrace@kcchronicle.com or call him at 630-845-5368.

Leave a Reply

